1. Collection
Registered Number 383
Acronym TISTR
Full Name TISTR Culture Collection, Bangkok MIRCEN
Institution Thailand Institute of Scientific and Technological Research
2. Correspondent
Correspondent Dr. Chatrudee Suwannachart
Postal Address 35 Moo 3, Technopolis, Klong 5,Klong Luang,Pathum Thani,12120
Country Thailand
Telephone 1 (66) 2-577-9028
Telephone 2 (66) 2-577-9030
Fax 1 (66) 2-577-9031
E-mail 1 mircen@tistr.or.th
E-mail 2 chatrudee@tistr.or.th
Homepage http://www.tistr.or.th/tistr_culture 
3. Status of the collection
Status Semi-governmental
4. Sponsors and budget
Sponsor UNEP/UNESCO
Royal Thai Government
5. Personnel
Director Ms. Chantara Phoonsiri
E-Mail:chantara@tistr.or.th
Curator Dr. Aparat Mahakhant (Microalgae)
E-mail:aparat@tistr.or.th
Ms. Susakul Palakawong Na Ayutthaya (Yeasts)
E-mail:susakul@tistr.or.th
Ms. Lawan Chatanon (Fungi)
E-mail:lawan@tistr.or.th
Dr. Chatrudee Suwannachart (Data management)
E-mail:chatrudee@tistr.or.th
Dr. Jaruwan Sitdhipol (Bacteria)
E-mail:jaruwan@tistr.or.th
Dr. Bhusita Wannissorn (Bacteria)
E-mail:bhusita@tistr.or.th
Dr. Bundit Fungsin (Yeast)
E-mail:bundit@tistr.or.th
Dr. Somporn Moonmangmee (Fungi)
E-mail:somporn@tistr.or.th
Dr. Pongsathon Phapugrangkul (Yeast)
E-mail:pongsathon@tistr.or.th
Dr. Narin Chansawang (Microalgae)
E-mail:narin_c@tistr.or.th
Number of Staff Mycology (3)
Algology (4)
Bacteriology (4)
Assistants (6)
Part-time staff (10)
Total (27)
6. Main Subjects
Subjects Agriculture
Applied microbiology
Culture and preservation methods
Developmental biology
Environmental protection
Fermentation
Freeze drying
General microbiology
Industrial microbiology
Systematics and taxonomy
7. Preservation
Method and category of cultures Freeze-dry(bacteria, fungi, yeasts)
Freezer(bacteria, fungi, yeasts)
L-drying(bacteria, fungi, yeasts)
Liquid N2(bacteria, fungi, yeasts)
Subculturing(microalgae)
Control of the culture Pre and post preservation culture testing
Viability Test
Purity Test
Key diagnostic characteristics Test
DNA sequencing
Biochemical Test
Deposit to your collection
to other collections in your country
JCM(Japan)
IAM(Japan)
ATCC(USA)
Source(s) of strains for people in this country: isolated by or introduced from Isolation by ourselves
Personally from the scientists in our country
From the collections in our country
From the research institutions in our country
the collection abroadATCC(USA)
the collection abroadJCM(Japan)
the collection abroadIAM(Japan)
Number of Strains until now Type Holding strains
(total number)/(number from your country)
new species
(total number)/(number from your country)
Bacteria 1036 0
Fungi 355 0
Yeasts 475 0
Microalgae 559 0
Number of strains last year Type Holding strains
(total number)/(number from your country)
new species
(total number)/(number from your country)
Microbes distributed
(total number)/(in your country)
Bacteria
Fungi
Yeasts
Microalgae
8. Availability of Cultures
Availability fee for Standard price for all US $100.00
9. Catalogue
Catalogue Publish own catalogue
Published the first catalogue in 1975 year(s)
10. Services
Services Patent deposits(Bacteria, Yeast, Fungi, Microalgae)
Storage service(Bacteria, Yeast, Fungi, Microalgae)
Distribution(Bacteria, Yeast, Fungi, Microalgae)
Identification(Bacteria, Yeast, Fungi, Microalgae)
Training Management of a culture collection
Culture and preservation methods
Quality control
Genetic engineering
Identification
Consulation about Patent deposits
Preservation
Propagation
11. Entry and Update Dates
Date of Entry 1981-10-26
Date of Reply 2017-10-06
12. Strains
Algae Bacteria Fungi Yeasts